Places

Moooving to Madison

IMG_0170Yesterday we made our virgin drive to Madison, Wisconsin, home to beer, cheese, and now, us. What a beautiful day to arrive, sunny and warm in the mid-60’s. Breezy and busy busy. I guess I forgot what it was like to be in a college town, bustling with bikes and scooters, sunbathers on rooftops, and backpacked bookbags wandering through every intersection. I was just glad not to be the one driving, especially because turning left is far more daunting without the infamous Michigan left. That was such a genius invention of roadway construction…just taken for granted. And now, we will try desperately not to get hit by oncoming traffic instead.

We found the National Mustard Museum in Middleton. I built my own old fashioned cocktails at Old Fashioned, where I also learned that Madison’s version is made with brandy in place of bourbon. We watched Blackhawk hockey, as we came to the sad realization that is probably the “home team” to root for here. And I ate some of the best blue cheese I’ve ever tasted.

Filled with butterflies, a bit of apprehension, and nervous anxiety, I’m ready to set off into apartment hunting around the burbs….as far from some of the college town shenanigans as we can get. Because I also learned that I’m closer to 30 than 21, and I would like it to stay that way.

IMG_0176

Leave a Reply

